Tags

, , ,

Summer is my favorite season of the year, and its not close. Kids are out of school, and the weather is getting warm, just a great time to bond with you kids. I believe I am not alone with this feeling. Practically everyone is now gearing up to rush to the beach and do the things that people on the beach do. Most will be there for the swimming. Then there are those who go to the beach for the chance to soak up the sun and get a good tan in the process. Some head off to the beach to ride the waves. Many others, on the other hand, will be there for their favorite beach activity, and it is babe-watching. With all those babes in bikinis on the beach during this time of the year, they are in for a great time the entire summer.

As for me, I go to the beach for one thing: kayaking. Ever since a friend showed me the wonders of kayaking a few summers ago, I have found myself hooked on the activity. Now I go kayaking every chance I get. This summer is one of my biggest chances, and I get to do it with my family this time, using the inflatable kayak that I just bought recently.

Since I have been doing this with my family for quite some time now, I already have an idea what to do to ensure that I and my family will be safe as we go kayaking. If you are doing this with your family for the first time there are a number of things that you need to keep in mind.

First off, make sure that you and your family wear personal flotation devices, which we often refer to as life jackets, all the time. Do not think that these life jackets are only for those who cannot swim. These life jackets are there to protect you in case of any accident that might render your above average swimming skills useless, like falling unconscious. First timers also need to kayak in calmer waters for safety reasons.  It also pays to be aware of tides and currents in order to prevent any untoward incidents. Do this and a host of other safety precautions and you will have a grand time kayaking with your whole family.

